Some Irish luck…

St. Patrick’s Day is here again and I’m looking for a bit ‘o the luck of the Irish.  Over the passed years, I haven’t felt very lucky.  Since Dave’s illness and death, luck hasn’t really been around…I don’t feel cursed or anything, but luck, well, luck seems to have passed me by…

So, today I sit here pondering luck.  Lucky I may not be, but blessed I am.  Even through tragedy and daily struggle I can see my blessings.  I think of all of the people struggling to survive tragedy today and I am blessed to say that I have survived the tragedy in my life.  I have survived to see another St. Patrick’s Day.  I have survived my broken heart, broken dreams and broken life and have begun to put the new life into practice.  Am I lucky? It doesn’t feel like it some days.  On other days, I know that I am.  I get to see my kids grow and become who they are.  I get to enjoy the warm sunshine on my face.  I have the opportunity (well maybe that’s not the best word) to learn new things, meet new people and serve others everyday.

Looking at my life with gratitude is another blessing in my life. Am I thankful that my husband died? No way!  Am I grateful that I was his wife? So, so grateful.  Bittersweet gratitude is still gratitude.  For me, searching for things to be grateful for has helped me to get up every day and face my brokenness.

So, am I lucky? Well, maybe not in the traditional sense of the word. I will be counting my blessings with a grateful heart again today…so, perhaps I have been touched by a bit ‘o the luck of the Irish.

“May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back,
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
The rains fall soft upon your fields and,
Until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.”

An Irish Blessing

Leave a Reply

