Camp Widow “Stand Up” 2011 Video

Last weekend I attended Camp Widow in San Diego, CA.  It was created by the very wise people at Soaring Spirits Loss Foundation.  On their website, Camp widow is described, “We come together to create a community that understands the life altering experience of widowhood. Camp Widow™ provides practical tools, valuable resources, and peer-based encouragement for rebuilding your life in the aftermath of the death of a spouse…”

Here’s a video presented by Michele Neff Hernandez during her keynote speech.  She spoke about finding a voice again after being widowed.  The video was played to illustrate many widowed people find their voices.

You can find out more about Camp Widow and many of the other wonderful things Soaring Spirits provides at their website http://www.sslf.org/index.html

6 thoughts on “Camp Widow “Stand Up” 2011 Video

  1. megan says:

    I bet dan is rolling – all these links posted everywhere showing sweet, overly loving fido!

    • cmt says:

      : )
      I read your post “home” today. I tried to comment, but there was a glitch of some sort. I love the poem/words quoted. I too am having very mixed emotions/feelings about camp. I also felt very lonely and very much a “widow”. More than I have been lately…don’t know if it’s a good or bad thing. I love your recommendations and have also thought of some things. I haven’t yet been able to wrap words around my experience yet…still chewing I guess…or maybe there will be no words this time…glad you are home and well (as well as can be).

  2. Diane says:

    Chris,

    I realize that my above post was an angry one, and it doesn’t belong on your kind and loving site. Whatever problems I’m having relating to some WV posters should not be expressed here. I saw your ambivalence about your Camp Widow experience, and I reacted. I’ve been reading WV since the first of the year, and it helped at first, but not any more. I wouldn’t mind if you deleted my post. I’m really sorry.

    • cmt says:

      Sure Diane – If you like. It’s ok to be angry and it’s ok to post that way here. Camp Widow was a good experience for me, but a difficult one too. I’m sure you can imagine. My experience has me reflecting on my journey – past, present and future. It is always hard for me, heartbreaking actually, to hear so much pain in another’s persons story…but no matter how hard it is for me, I still want to be there for people to tell their story. I think I’m just overloaded and overwhelmed since returning from the camp. It was a good experience for me, not in a ra-ra kind of way, but in a solidarity kind of way. Your posts are always welcome here – Chris

      • Diane says:

        Thank you for the reply, and the effort to share the range of feelings about your camp experience, and everything else you write about.. I’m into my third year, and there are now fewer people to listen to the truth of how this feels.

Leave a Reply

